Chats & Interviews <|> Gig/Tour/Festival Reviews <|> CD/DVD/Book Reviews <|> Photo Galleries
Free Hawkwind Downloads <|> Resources <|> Other Features
News <|> Links <|> Search <|> Site Map <|> Home
Hawkwind Press Releases - Part 5

Thanks to Wilfried Schuesler for the press releases on this page!
Above: 1977 press release by Sire Records, USA.
The text is as follows:

Hawkwind, recently preserved for posterity in the
Michael Moorcock novel Time Of The Hawklords,
are still alive and well.  In 1976, the Hawkwind
machine revved back into action with new
management, a new record company, and of course
new material.

Time, it seemed, had not taken its toll on this
paradoxical band.  The sci-fi element of
Hawkwind's large contingent of admirers had also
welcomed the return of Bob Calvert and his
delightful eccentricities.  After a turbulent solo
career Calvert decided: "I couldn't survive
artisitically without Hawkwind - I felt as though I
was in limbo, just writing and [not] performing.  I
needed to perform and Hawkwind was the band I
needed to do it with."

The personnel: in early 1977 Paul Rudolph and Alan
Powell left to form their own band and Nik Turner
departed to follow a solo career.  Adrian Shaw, a
long time friend of the band, joined on bass and the
new lineup of Bob Calvert (vocals), Adrian Shaw
(bass guitar), Simon House (keyboards), Dave
Brock (guitar), and Simon King (drums) united to
create their newest and most distinctive album to
date, Quark Strangeness and Charm.  The album
proved highly successful in England, with the new
lineup indicating clearly that their journey into space
is reaching a new dimension.
Above: 1990's biography issued by Roadrunner
Records. The text is as follows:

Founded by Dave Brock (lead guitar / vocals),
Hawkwind were a loose aggregation of hippies;
specialising in progressive extemporaneous recitals,
they captivated a small but dedicated following in
London circa 1969.

In 1970, they released their self-titled debut.  Later
that year, Hawkwind appeared at the historic Isle
Of Wight extravaganza: they weren't on the bill,
however, they played for free outside the gates in
protest against high admission prices.

Renown for their rallying support of charities and
worthwhile causes, Hawkwind's philosophy and
lifestyle earned them the distinction of being a
"people's band".  Their second LP, In Search Of
Space, made the British album charts in 1971.  
After recording the infamous "Greasy Trucker's
Party" LP at the London Roundhouse in '71,
Hawkwind released the million-selling "Silver
Machine" single with a line-up that included Lemmy
Kilmister (bass, future Motorhead), Simon King
(drums), Robert Calvert (poet), Nik Turner (sax),
Stacia (dancer), Del Dettmar and DikMik
(electronics).  They also recorded their third LP,
Doremi Fasol Latido.

During this time, Hawkwind had also embarked on
the electrifying science-fiction inspired Space Ritual
Road Show: Space Ritual Live, recorded at
Liverpool Stadium, was released prior to the
departure of Dik Mik and Robert Calvert.  Joining
the rapidly evolving line-up was the San Francisco
[??!!] writer Michael Moorcock, whose 1976 novel
"The Time Of The Hawklords" was inspired by the

Subsequently Del Dettmar left and was replaced by
Simon House.  The release of Hall Of The Mountain
Grill followed.  When Simon King broke several
ribs, Alan Powell stepped in and remained with the
band upon Simon's return.

In 1975, Warrior On The Edge Of Time was
released; though Lemmy (who later formed
Motorhead) was fired after being busted for speed
at the Canadian border, he was quickly replaced by
Paul Rudolph, formerly of the Pink Fairies.  Stacia
left, Robert Calvert rejoined and 1976 signalled a
year of further upheavals.  Signing with Charisma
Records, Hawkwind released Astounding Sounds,
Amazing Music: subsequently Nik Turner, Paul
Rudolph and Alan Powell departed.
Above: part of the press kit for the 1995 Spirit Of The Age tour of North America.  The text is below:
Hawkwind will be celebrating 25 years of music with a US tour - staring April 4th in Toronto. This is the
original Hawkwind with 25 year veteran Dave Brock.  The tour line-up will include members Alan Davey,
Richard Chadwick, Dave Brock and Ron Bastard on vocals.  Davey has been with Hawkwind since 1984
and Chadwick since 1987.  This will be Bastard's first appearance with the band and donning a spectacular
illuminating electric suit on stage he is sure to enhance Hawkwind's already incredible stage show.  Many
songs previously tackled by the late Robert Calvert will be performed: many of which have not been
performed since his death in 1988.

Since their beginnings in 1969 Hawkwind has had many recognizable members including Lemmy
(Motorhead), Ginger Baker (Cream), Nik Turner, and Michael Moorcock.  More than a few bands have
cited Hawkwind as a major influence, including Ozric Tentacles and The Orb.  With the rise of ambient
and techno it's safe to say that over two decades ago Hawkwind was the start of it all!
Above & below: page 1, 2 and 3 of 1974 United Artists biography